Release Day!

Happy release day, Prelude!  I’m so happy to share David and Alex’s story with you all.  This story is chronologically the first in the Blue Notes Series of classical music themed gay romances I’ve published with Dreamspinner Press.  No other character appears in more of the books than conductor David Somers, the fictional music director of the Chicago Symphony Orchestra.

Over the next month, I’ll be guest blogging at some of my favorite authors’ blogs and talking more about the series and Prelude, in particular (check out the blog tour giveaways!).  There are so many aspects of the book that I look forward to exploring with you all, including David’s unusual ability to “hear” music in response to people and emotional situations.  “Synesthesia,” of an unusual sort.  (Merriam-Webster defines this as “a concomitant sensation; especially : a subjective sensation or image of a sense (as of color) other than the one (as of sound) being stimulated.”)  Some people may hear a sound and think of a color, but David sees people and hears music.  That’s the music that calls to him when he first meets violinist Alex Bishop, and it’s the key to unlocking David’s walled-off heart.

You can now download Prelude at Dreamspinner Press!  Links for Amazon, AllRomanceEbooks, and Barnes and Noble will follow as soon as the book is posted on those websites.  Prefer a “real” book?  You can purchase the paperback here.  And believe me, Dreamspinner’s paperbacks are simply gorgeous!

I truly hope you will enjoy reading Prelude as much as I enjoyed working with my co-author, Venona Keyes, to write it!  David and Alex are near and dear to our hearts, and we hope you will feel the same way we do.  And don’t forget, you can find all the music in the book by clicking on the “extras” link on my website.  -Shira


Summary: World-renowned conductor David Somers never wanted the investment firm he inherited from his domineering grandfather. He only wanted to be a composer. But no matter how he struggles, David can’t translate the music in his head into notes on paper.

When a guest violinist at the Chicago Symphony falls ill, David meets Alex Bishop, a last-minute substitute. Alex’s fame and outrageous tattoos fail to move David. Then Alex puts bow to string, and David hears the brilliance of Alex’s soul.

David has sworn off relationships, believing he will eventually drive away those he loves, or that he’ll lose them as he lost his wife and parents. But Alex is outgoing, relaxed, and congenial—everything David is not—and soon makes dents in the armor around David’s heart. David begins to dream of Alex, wonderful dreams full of music. Becoming a composer suddenly feels attainable.

David’s fragile ego, worn away by years of his grandfather’s disdain, makes losing control difficult. When David’s structured world comes crashing down, his fledgling relationship with Alex is the first casualty. Still, David hears Alex’s music, haunting and beautiful. David wants to love Alex, but first he must find the strength to acknowledge himself.

NOTE: Each Blue Notes novel is a standalone story and books in the series can be read in any order.

Want to buy the Blue Notes Series books? You can find them all here: Want to read an excerpt? Click on the link and scroll down to the link marked “Expand” on the right-hand side.


  1. Kath - Reply

    Yay! No more sleeps 🙂

    Congratulations on your latest release. The early reviews are very positive – I am so looking forward finding some quiet time to curl up and read this book.

  2. Marie - Reply

    Congratulations on your recent publication! I’ve enjoyed the books I’ve read in the Blue Notes series so far, and I look forward to reading this one hopefully soon, too.

Leave Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.